Sunday, October 27, 2013

Lilian Nixon Debating Championship 2013

The above tournament, organized by the Debating Society of Ladies' College, was held on the 26th and 27th of October 2013 with the participation of 40 teams - the largest tournament hosted by a school so far. The teams included the regulars on the debating circuit, as well as new teams like St. John's College Jaffna, Overseas School of Colombo and British School in Colombo. In order to ensure that the best from among such a large pool of teams would break into the knock-out rounds, the organizers scheduled four preliminary debates as opposed to the usual three.

At the end of the preliminary rounds, the following teams broke into the quarter finals:
(In descending order)

Colombo International School (A)
S. Thomas' College (A)
Royal College (A)
S. Thomas' College (B)
Colombo International School (B)
Ananda College (A)
Holy Family Convent (A)
Lyceum International School Nugegoda (B)

The quarter-finals yielded no upsets, and the top seeded teams won their respective debates to proceed to the semi-finals. In the semi-final round, CIS (A) beat STC (B) opposing the motion "THBT a corrupt democracy is better than a dictatorship", while Royal (A) beat STC (A) proposing the motion "TH supports the censorship of media in times of political crisis"

Thus, the Grand Final was between Colombo International School and Royal College, on the theme of "Law and Order". The debate was adjudicated by a very experienced panel of judges, which comprised Shan Dantanarayana (Chair), Nishantha De Silva, Deshan Pushparajah, Shamalie Jayatunge, Damitha Karunaratne, Rhadeena de Alwis and Michael Mendis.

The team from Royal College comprised

Kanchana Ranasinghe
Senith Abeyanayake (C)
Shechem Sumanthiran

while the team from Colombo International School was represented by

Eran Fernando (C)
Keshya Amarasinghe
Ramathi Bandaranayake

Royal College proposed the motion "THW give the people the power - via referendum - to pardon whistle-blowers". On a 6-1 split, the decision went in favour of the government, and Royal College became the winners of the Lilian Nixon Challenge Shield for the year 2013.

Shechem Sumanthiran of Royal College was adjudged the Most Outstanding Speaker of the competition.

The tournament's novice final was between Stafford International School and S. Thomas' College (C), and the latter emerged victors.

Congratulations to the winning team and to Ladies' College for a well organized and efficiently run tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment