Sunday, February 21, 2010

MCDS Sri Lanka Schools Debating Championships 2010

The 2010 edition of the MCDS Sri Lanka Schools Debating Championships was held on the 19th, 20th and 21st of February 2010. Around 60 teams registered for the tournament this year. The tournament was endorsed by the Debaters' Council.

After 5 strenous and highly competitive rounds of Debating the top 8 teams broke into the Quarter Final Rounds. The following are the results from hence

Quarter Finals
Wesley College A bt St. Joseph's College B
St. Joseph's College A bt D. S Senanayake College A
Royal College A bt Ladies' College A
S. Thomas' College A bt S. Thomas' College B

Semi Finals
Wesley College A bt S. Thomas' College A
Royal College A bt St. Joseph's College A

Wesley College A bt Royal College A

Vinura Ladduwahetty from S. Thomas' College A was adjudged the Best Speaker at the Tournament.

We congratulate Wesley College for winning the tournament for the first time and Royal College for their excellent performance to reach the Finals.

Wesley College A was represented by
Maleen Jayasuriya - Captain
Sithira Gunasekera
Chrisjit Xavier

Royal College A was represented by
Themal Ellawela
Viraga Perera

Tamil and Sinhala competitions were also organized parallel to the English version. We thank the Moot Court and Debating Society of the University of Colombo for the hard work put in to make the competition a success.

Sunday times article - preview to WSDC 2010

Please click here

Team Sri Lanka make great strides at WSDC 2010

The 2010 edition of the World Schools Debating Championships was held in Doha, Qatar from the 8th to 19th of February. Sri Lanka was represented at the tournament by the following

Sandaruwani De Silva - Captain
Sanjit Dias
Maleen Jayasuriya
Pranjeevan Kulasingham
Kithmina Hewage

Coach - Mr. Deshan Pushparajah

The Debaters performed beyond expectations at the Championships winning 6 out of their 8 first rounds debates. The team beat tournament heavyweights South Africa as well as Lebanon, UAE, Malaysia, Japan and Phiippines.

As such, team Sri Lanka broke into the Octo Finals for the first time ever being ranked 11th out of 57 teams. Sri Lanka broke higher than other major teams such as Scotland, Ireland, Pakistan and South Africa.

Up against 6th place team Slovenia in the Octo final round proposing the motion, THBT that there should be no law restricting the freedom of speech, the team unfortunately lost on a 4-1 split.

Sri Lanka was also placed 3rd on the tab of English as a Second Language (ESL) countries.

Special commendation is due to Sandaruwani for being placed 48th in the overall speaker tab and Sanjit Dias who was placed 3rd best speaker in the English as a Foreign Language (EFL) category.

Kudos to all concerned!

DC Maverick opens - Final results from the Convenor

Thank you again for your participation at the inaugural DC Maverick Open Singles tournament. We hope you had an enjoyable weekend and look forward to your feedback.

The final results are as follows

Kumaravadivel Guruparan - DC Maverick Champion
Shan Danthanarayana and Poornima Wijemanne - DC Maverick Finals Winning team
Damitha Karunarathne (Faculty of Law) - DC Maverick Champion Adjudicator
Raaliya Hussain (Methodist College) - DC MAverick Novices Champion

Congratulations to all who took part and the Mavericks!

DC Maverick opens - Rankings and Semi Final Update from the Convenor

Hi everyone,

Thank you again for your participation at this year’s DC Maverick tournament and congratulations for your excellent performance. For those who were unable to make it we had 65 participants in all with 22 breaking to the semi final round as debaters and adjudicators.

Under Rule 18 the Semi Final matches will be as follows (in italics are the partners picked by the top 14 and in brackets are the rankings from the Prelims):

SF 1:
OG Guru (1), Raneesha (17)
OO Luwie (3), Meghal (20 / Schools 4)
CG Sachintha (6), Sanduni (22)
CO Aruna (8), Deborah
Adj Kandasamy (9), Michael (11), Hafiz (13)

SF 2:
OG Visakha (2), Sasha (42)
OO Shamalie (4), Naomi (32)
CG Shan (5), Poornima (28)
CO Shanil (7), Enakshi (40)
Adj Damitha (10), Radheena (12), Shazna (15)

Considering we are still finding our feet with this tournament format we appreciate your patience yesterday. We also request any further feedback in order to refine the format considerably based on your experience.

Thanks again and hope you had fun!

Best regards,

Anisha Yasaratne

Sorry for the delay

The Blogger wishes to apologize for the delay in bringing you the news as he has been otherwise occupied over the last month.

Our regret for any inconvenience caused in this regard