Monday, May 31, 2010

DC Schools' League - Week 03 - Metho slide further

S. Thomas' College avenged their first round defeat against Methodist College beating the latter in a prepared debate over the weekend. The hosts proposed the motion "TH supports a federal Sri Lanka" beating their opponents with a close margin.

In a separate debate Bishop's College opened their account beating the same opponents by a clearer margin. They proposed the motion "THBT EU-style regional economic integration is detrimental to the world economy"

Next week's debates will see Ladies' College and St. Joseph's College in action for the first time. The former will host traditional rivals Bishop's College in a prepared debate at home.

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

DC Schools League - Week 02 - Metho pegged back, STC DS & Wesley open accounts

Week 02 of the 2nd DC Schools League 2010 saw 3 debates involving 5 of the participating teams.

Methodist College, participating in two of the three debates lost their early advantage gained last week, losing both debates on rather clear margins.

In the first of the two debates, D. S Senanayake College avenged last week's defeat by beating the guests by a unanimous margin of 5 points. They proposed the motion "THW prosecute Robert Mugabe for crimes against humanity."

In the second debate, Wesley College beat their their guests on a split decision proposing the motion "THW abolish Sri Lanka's customary laws in favour of a uniform civil code". The debate was unanimously held to be a poor one.

In a separate debate at Mount Lavinia, S. Thomas' College opened their account beating last year's runner up Bishop's College by a 4 point margin. STC proposed the motion "THBT western liberal countries have a moral duty to spread democracy across the world using force where necessary"

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

DC Schools League 2010 - Metho off to a flier

The 2nd edition of the Debaters' Council Schools League got underway at Kollupitiya on Saturday with Methodist College taking on S. Thomas' College and D. S Senanayake College at home in impromptu debates.

At the first debate, Methodist College beat S. Thomas' College by a 2 point margin proposing the motion THBT Supreme Court Judges should be elected. At the second, the hosts beat D. S Senanayake College by a clearer 4 point margin proposing the motion THW compel priests to divulge the details of confessionals in criminal trials.

The successful double means that Methodist College has reaped first advantage at this year's league. All bodes well for a competitive tournament to come.

The detailed results are as follows

Methodist College vs S. Thomas' College - 3-0 (MC)
Methodist College vs D. S Senanayake College - 3-0 (MC)

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Follow your favorite team at the League right here

DC Schools League 2010 will be worked off on the 15th of May 2010 at Methodist College. The finalized schedule will be uploaded no sooner the teams iron out certain complications.

This blog will be updated regularly with results and current standings within the league.

The details of the debates on the 15th are as follows

Methodist College vs S. Thomas' College (MC - 15th May 10 a.m)
Methodist College vs D. S Senanayake College (MC - 15th May 3 p.m)

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Preview to the Debaters' Council Schools League 2010

The Debaters' Council Schools League is proud to announce the launch of the 2nd edition of DC Schools English Debating League. The tournament will commence on the 15th of May 2010 and run up till the 31st of October this year. A total of 56 first round debates will held with all 8 participating teams debating each other twice on a 'home and away' system.

The 8 participating teams at this year's competition are as follows:

Wesley College
Bishop's College
St. Joseph's College
S. Thomas' College
Ladies' College
Methodist College
D. S Senanayake College
Colombo International School

The Co-Convenors for the tournament will be Mr. David Rajasingham and Mr. Michael Mendis while the Chief Adjudicator will be Mr. Rehan Almeida

Defending Champions and reigning champs of the Sri Lanka Schools Debating circuit Wesley College enter the competition as hot favorites again this year. However 14 debates per school means that the tournament is wide open for all teams to make it their own.

Last year's runner-up and the leader at group stage, Bishop's College enter the tournament with a fairly new team this year. This element of surprise could prove vital in their chances at DC Schools League 2010.

3rd & 4th Place holders at DC Schools League 2009, St. Joseph's College and S. Thomas' College will also enter the tournament with much anticipation. Both teams retain some big names from last year with a good blend of new comers as well.

Methodist College and Colombo International School may be the dark horses this year. Both schools have exhibited much potential at recent tournaments and are capable of rolling out incredible performances.

New entrants this year, Ladies' College and D. S Senanayake College have also shown much potential and will be keen to make an impression in the tournament both having been out of the debating circuit for a while. Ladies' College bring international debating experience to the tournament, after having participated at last year's Asian Schools Debating Championship.

All in all, DC Schools League 2010 promises to be a nail biting affair. Best of luck to the 8 participating teams.

Let the debates begin!

Changing of the Guard

Subsequent to the retirement of Mr. Deshan Pushparajah from the Chairmanship of the Debaters' Council, the Board of Directors of the council met recently and unanimously resolved that Mr. Anisha Yasaratne be appointed the Chairman of the Council. This appointment will however be subject to confirmation at the Annual General Meeting of the Charity to be held shortly.

Mr. Yasaratne is a longstanding stalwart of the Debaters' Council having been part of its founding membership. He is a past president of the Moot Court and Debating Society of the University of Colombo and has taken part in many international tournaments including the World Universities Debating Championship.

We wish him well for the coming year