Sunday, January 30, 2011

CIS Crowned Best of the Best

The Grand Final of the Debaters' Council Schools League 2010 was held on the 29th of January at the Colombo International School Auditorium.

The Final, between Colombo International School and S. Thomas' College turned out to be a hotly contested affair. The motion for the final was "This House Would Ban Wikileaks." CIS proposed the motion while S. Thomas' College opposed

The adjudicators considering both sides, decided on a close 6-3 split in favor of Cololmbo International School. Hence CIS became the CHAMPIONS of the League.

The 9 member adjudication panel at the grand final consisted of Mr. Rehan Almeida, Mr. Nishantha De Silva, Mr. Gehan Gunatilleke, Mr. Deshan Pushparajah, Ms Shamalie Jayatunge, Mr. Charana Kanankegamage, Ms Vishakha Wijenayake, Mr. Shaan Dantanarayana and Ms Raneesha De Alwis.

Commenting on the finals, Chief Adjudicator Mr. Rehan Almeida highlighted that the debate itself was not of the highest quality but commended both teams on producing some spectacular performances over the previous year.

The two finalist teams were represented by

Colombo International School
Tamara Fernando (Captain)
Manjaree Gamage
Menakshi Uduwela

S. Thomas' College
Vinura Ladduwahetty (Captain)
Minaal Wickremasinghe
Sanjit Dias

The following were the top speakers at the League (In Descending order)

Sanjit Dias, S. Thomas' College College - Most outstanding speaker
Maleen Jayasuriya, Wesley College
Meghal Perera, Ladies' College
Minaal Wickremasinghe, S. Thomas' College
Chrisjit Xavier, Wesley College

The event, being the climax of the now flagship schools tournament of the Debaters' Council saw the presence of teachers & well wishers from all over the country.

8 long months and 57 debates from the start of this year's tournament. Colombo International School, the champion of champions at school level debating.

Based on the final rankings, Colombo International School. S. Thomas' College, Wesley College and Ladies' College will gain automatic qualification for The DC Schools League 2011, while the remaining schools will be relegated to qualify again at the Sri Lanka Schools Debating Championship 2011 to be held in February this year.

The Debaters' Council congratulates both finalists and all other participating teams for the high standard of debating displayed right throughout.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Debaters' Council Schools League 2010 - The promise of a thriller

The much awaited grand final of the 2nd annual DC Schools' League will be worked off on the 29th of January (Saturday) at the Colombo International School Auditorium. The final is to commence at 3.45 p.m

After 56 grueling debates amongst the top 8 teams in the country, Colombo International School and S. Thomas' College will battle it out in the Grand Final. The motion for the debate will be "THW Ban Wikileaks." CIS will propose the motion while S. Thomas' College will oppose.

The debate promises to be an equal match-up on paper with both teams exhibiting tons of talent and promise over their quota of debates last year.

The CIS team will most likely field an all girl team comprising of Tamara Fernando (C), Menakshi Uduwela and Manjaree Gamage. Of their 14 first round debates, CIS emerged victorious in 11 encounters and led the table comfortably at the conclusion. However, they will surely miss the services of some key debaters who will not be available for the grand final debate.

The STC team is expected to be made up of Minaal Wickremasinghe and former Sri Lankan team members Sanjit Dias and Vinura Ladduwahetty (C). In contrast to CIS, STC got off to a rather poor start to this year's league, but recovered in time to scarcely edge out last year's victors Wesley College in a battle of points. However, with a more successful 2nd half compared to their opponents, STC will enjoy the benefit of momentum going into Saturday.

We wish to invite all members and well wishers to grace this event