Thursday, January 27, 2011

Debaters' Council Schools League 2010 - The promise of a thriller

The much awaited grand final of the 2nd annual DC Schools' League will be worked off on the 29th of January (Saturday) at the Colombo International School Auditorium. The final is to commence at 3.45 p.m

After 56 grueling debates amongst the top 8 teams in the country, Colombo International School and S. Thomas' College will battle it out in the Grand Final. The motion for the debate will be "THW Ban Wikileaks." CIS will propose the motion while S. Thomas' College will oppose.

The debate promises to be an equal match-up on paper with both teams exhibiting tons of talent and promise over their quota of debates last year.

The CIS team will most likely field an all girl team comprising of Tamara Fernando (C), Menakshi Uduwela and Manjaree Gamage. Of their 14 first round debates, CIS emerged victorious in 11 encounters and led the table comfortably at the conclusion. However, they will surely miss the services of some key debaters who will not be available for the grand final debate.

The STC team is expected to be made up of Minaal Wickremasinghe and former Sri Lankan team members Sanjit Dias and Vinura Ladduwahetty (C). In contrast to CIS, STC got off to a rather poor start to this year's league, but recovered in time to scarcely edge out last year's victors Wesley College in a battle of points. However, with a more successful 2nd half compared to their opponents, STC will enjoy the benefit of momentum going into Saturday.

We wish to invite all members and well wishers to grace this event

No comments:

Post a Comment