Monday, October 18, 2010

STC win Nixons

The Lilian Nixon Challenge Trophy, the annual tournament organized by Ladies' College was held on the 16th & 17th October 2010. More than 20 teams participated at the event.

S. Thomas' College emerged champions of the tournament beating D. S Senanayake College in the finals with a 5-0 unanimous decision in their favor. The motion for the final was "THW Ban Race Based political parties".

The other semi-finalists at the event were S. Thomas' College B Team and Colombo International School.

Maleen Jayasuriya of Wesley College was adjudged the most outstanding speaker at the competition.

S. Thomas' College has now won the championships 3 years in a row.

Congratulations to Ladies' College on organizing a well-oiled tournament and the participants on their achievements


  1. Just a small correction. The semi-finalists were S.Thomas' A & B, D.S. Senanayake College and Colombo International School.